U.S. federal law enacted by President Richard Nixon in 1970 to replace Harry Anslinger’s 1937 Marihuana Tax Act that was ruled unconstitutional by the Supreme Court. The Controlled Substances Act created a list of five Schedules, and placed cannabis alongside codeine and heroin in Schedule I, the most restrictive classification.

« Back to Glossary Index